EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

News, questions and bugs reports about CosmosEx by Jookie. Now we have a Raspberry Pi in our machines!

Moderators: Jookie, Moderator Team

Post Reply
User avatar
Bikerbob
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 512
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2016 2:46 am
Location: Oakville, ON, Canada
Contact:

EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Bikerbob »

SO I have the microcosmosex ..

I was running emutos .9.2 and tried to run the ce_config.tos

Locks up the machine.. anyone running thier cosmosex with EMUTOS?

James
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2485
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by Eero Tamminen »

EmuTOS v0.9.2 is really old (something like 7 years old). Would v1.1 work any better?
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5426
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I think the sources for ce_config are available. If it still does not work, it should be possible to trace the problem down and fix it.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5426
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I personally use my own MicroCosmosEX today with EmuTOS 1.1.1

I got it working with EMUTOSDE.PRG loaded by hand from a floppy including the contents from the O: drive.
I also was able to use czietz's EMuTOS harddisk bootsector to create an ACSI SD card booting v1.1.1 from this one.
At least the CE main driver utility works fine when put in AUTO there.

However I had somewhat odd experiences with accessing a network share on N:
While I can run some programs from it (strangely, some do not work), I couldn't reliably copy files to my C: drive.
I wonder if there is an incompatibility with EmuTOS? EMUDESK mentioned something like "Couldn't copy file" but 0 bytes long files did came up.

As I also had some issues accessing my GOEX with Flashfloppy in this combination, I wonder if EmuTOS and the CosmosEX drivers do have some issues with another? Is there a possibility to fix them?
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5426
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

I have uploaded my SD card image for reference. (8GB, 2 partitions)

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1KtvRNR ... sp=sharing

I'd also trace some vectors or so myself If I get pointers where I shall look and how.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5426
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: EMUTOS and COSMOSEX (jookie)

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Copying from ACSI to Network drive N: or translated USB key seems to work fine.

CosmosEX software versions are as follows:
Bildschirmfoto_2022-01-17_19-44-04.png
IRC it told me "no updates available" when I check on Saturday....
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Post Reply

Return to “CosmosEx”