NetUSBee TOS driver

Troubles with your machine? Just want to speak about the latest improvements? This is the place!

Moderators: Mug UK, Zorro 2, spiny, Greenious, Moderator Team

User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2015
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by frank.lukas »

Galvez wrote:
frank.lukas wrote:Work not with the PAK68/3. With my Atari TT the Netusbee is not working too.
New driver to test with the TT and the PAK/3.
netusbee.zip
It is not working. The USB.ACC show the USB Stick connected to the netusbee but at the Desktop there is no drive letter for the USB Stick. HDDriver display for the Buses "Bus 3: USB Mass Storage" but there are no Availabe Devices on Bus 3 and no Availabe Drives for the USB Stick.

SETMAC.PRG works fine
HT3ENEC.TOS work not "Reset Bit not Set FATAL"
HT2ENEC.TOS work not "ffffffff" MAC Address
HT1ENEC.TOS work not

I check the Netusbee in a Atari Mega ST and it works fine there.
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
susher
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 134
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:06 pm

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by susher »

SETMAC always says that it works... but on many TTs it doesn't actually mange to write to the EEPROM.

It looks like your TT is even more incompatible with the NetUSBee than mine, though cleaning the cartridge port helped a lot. (Your results are similar to mine before I cleaned the contacts individually and then used folded paper to polish the last of the corrosion off.)
Galvez
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 298
Joined: Fri Oct 19, 2007 7:49 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by Galvez »

Hi Frank, thanks for the feedback.
frank.lukas wrote: It is not working. The USB.ACC show the USB Stick connected to the netusbee but at the Desktop there is no drive letter for the USB Stick. HDDriver display for the Buses "Bus 3: USB Mass Storage" but there are no Availabe Devices on Bus 3 and no Availabe Drives for the USB Stick.
Were those test made with the PAK/3 or the TT? or both?

Also I'd like to mention that the USB TOS drivers don't work when the NetUSBee network driver for STING is configured and working. Just in case you have it installed on those machines.
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2015
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by frank.lukas »

Galvez wrote:Hi Frank, thanks for the feedback.
frank.lukas wrote: It is not working. The USB.ACC show the USB Stick connected to the netusbee but at the Desktop there is no drive letter for the USB Stick. HDDriver display for the Buses "Bus 3: USB Mass Storage" but there are no Availabe Devices on Bus 3 and no Availabe Drives for the USB Stick.
Were those test made with the PAK/3 or the TT? or both?
for both ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
rcamp48
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 176
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2018 8:03 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by rcamp48 »

Hi I just ordered a NetUsbEE from Lotharek and it should be in soon. When I get it I would love to test it on my 1 meg ST machine and my 4 meg machine which I should have ready by the time the netusbee comes in, I also have a 1040 STE with 4 megs but it is down right now. Russ PS: I am in Canada so you would have a beta tester for US machines.
Now supporting Atari Portfolio , my archives are still being maintained.
BBS is now up again as an Atari BBS, run on PC, cause I sold everything but my Atari Portfolio.
Note: Atari Portfolio IDE CF kits are being made. Get yours today! :megaphone:
Note that my BBS is back online with Win-server 8.0454.8 at telnet://spyvisitsspybbs.com:1990 and http://www.spyvisitsspybbs.com:1991
Perdrix24
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:47 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by Perdrix24 »

rcamp48 wrote:Hi I just ordered a NetUsbEE from Lotharek and it should be in soon. When I get it I would love to test it on my 1 meg ST machine and my 4 meg machine which I should have ready by the time the netusbee comes in, I also have a 1040 STE with 4 megs but it is down right now. Russ PS: I am in Canada so you would have a beta tester for US machines.
Hi, I'm in Canada too! Gatineau, QC near Ottawa. I will add you to my list of testers, so you'll receive beta drivers to test.

Meanwhile, download the latest drivers at http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=15&t=34355 . There I put together USB drivers from different authors in a package. We have drivers for USB storage, mouse and keyboard.


Claude
Ibanezq
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Aug 17, 2018 3:58 pm

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by Ibanezq »

Hi @Pedrix24, any updates, progress etc.? :)
elrnsd
Retro freak
Retro freak
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Dec 08, 2017 5:13 pm

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by elrnsd »

Hey guys (and gals),

I am having some issues with my NetUSBEE and getting USB drives to work. Basically I was able to get an older USB to work right out of the box with TOS on my TT (TOS 3.06). However after a little while it stopped working and then my system would freeze up and unless I removed the USB at start up, it would no longer recognize in the system. Confused, I tried other USB thumb drives....with no luck. HDDRUtil 10.3 would see some drives, not others. In vain I have even gone so far as to purchase 2 different USB sticks (both 16GB) and again, the HDUtil's would see one of the drives, but I can not partition it, add files to it, or when I copy files from Windows and then put to my TT it does not see the files. I have even tried to format it in the HDUtils thinking it was something with the file structure on the USB drive.

I am at a total loss now. I can not get any USB thumb drives to work. I have tried the following with the results:

SanDIsk 2 GB - sees the device, but will not allow me to access it. Also when it's in the NETUSBEE on startup, locks up the system.
SanDisk 4 GB - does not see it at all. I've tried both formatting in FAT and FAT32 on Windows, no luck.
SanDisk 16 GB - See's the device in HDUTIL, and will format it, but I can not partition it and TOS does not see any files on it.
PNY 16 GB - Same as the SanDIsk 16GB.

Are there specific USB sticks that are known to work and is there a specific process in order to get the drives to work?

I have the drivers in the auto folder correctly and the most current ones as verified by Pendrix.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Eric
6BQ5
Atari User
Atari User
Posts: 41
Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2019 5:59 am
Location: Minden, NV USA

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by 6BQ5 »

I've been using a Kingston DataTraveler G4 16GB unit with my NetUSBee. Also, some of the super small Sandisk Cruzer Fit devices work too.

Boris

Atari 130XE
Atari 1040 STe
stween
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:38 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by stween »

Hello! Sorry for waking an old thread, but this seems a related place for my questions. Happy to throw into a separate thread if that's better.

I've got a Netusbee from Lotharek's store. I'm setting it up in TOS 2.06 first, and from there I might branch out into other setups. I'm on an STe (4MB RAM, and an internal IDE interface fitted many years ago).

I'm happy to say that I've gotten it going, at least for an initial test! I've gotten a USB mouse running and managed some basic pings on my LAN. It seemed less happy to ping anything beyond its local netmask, but I'll revisit that. A USB stick seemed to lock up the machine/lock up the boot process but, again, I can revisit.

I'm interested to know what netus.tos is supposed to give me, and whether I should be concerned.

Before I got the network working, I got these errors:

https://imgur.com/iCgkzbk
https://imgur.com/VuXFr3U

And now, it reports more like this:

https://imgur.com/Wl2mKnT

So the test seems to fail earlier? Are these errors cause for concern? Or is this likely as simple to fix as bathing my cartridge port contacts in isoprop?

For reference, I'm running the Netusbee drivers package found on this page plus some pieces taken from the links on Lotharek's store.

Other questions around this:
  • One of the HT*ENEC.TOS tests (HT2ENEC I think?) reports a MAC different to what setmac.prg reports. I gather from elsewhere that setmac.prg always claims that it's been successful. Which one of these is telling the truth, and should I care?
  • The USB mouse stops working if I switch between ST Low and ST Med. Is that a known bug, and can I kick it back into life?
  • uip flashes an error about not running with STiK then bails, but Lotharek's store points to it. Should it run?
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5309
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by simonsunnyboy »

stween wrote: Sun Dec 13, 2020 11:07 pm uip flashes an error about not running with STiK then bails, but Lotharek's store points to it. Should it run?
UIP has its own TCP/IP stack and never runs with any STik/STing compatible stack running. It is either this or that.
Boot your machine clean without any AUTO stuff, then UIP should run fine.

Or use a boot manager like InsaneBoot to configure different environments.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
stween
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:38 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by stween »

simonsunnyboy wrote: Mon Dec 14, 2020 7:08 amUIP has its own TCP/IP stack and never runs with any STik/STing compatible stack running. It is either this or that.
Boot your machine clean without any AUTO stuff, then UIP should run fine.
Oh, that makes sense; thanks! If I run with no AUTO and uipV310.tos, it bails with an error here. With a little more time to focus I might be able to debug that, but right now I'm re-learning how all these tools interoperate!
geogeo28
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:42 pm

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by geogeo28 »

Not sure if this can help you. I have the same issue with my Atari Falcon (same error message, driver initialization failed...).
The reset circuit is a little weak due to some bad capacitors (I am waiting new caps to fix that).
To workaround this problem, I boot the Flacon with the NetUSBee. At the TOS, I remove gently the cartridge and reinsert it (be careful when you do it). I obtain 6 bombs. Push the reset button and rerun again uip. This time no issue.

I suggest that you check the PSU and recap the motherboard.
geogeo28
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:42 pm

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by geogeo28 »

I forgot to mention, I have no AUTO folder. Empty C drive with only HDDRIVER.
Perdrix24
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:47 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by Perdrix24 »

Don't mix and match drivers from different places. The latest is https://www.atari-forum.com/download/file.php?id=42843 .
Read carefully the instructions. There is a known conflict with Sting. I run the USB drivers in AUTO folder and uiptool from the desktop, no problem together.
stween
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:38 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by stween »

I took a little more time to look at this tonight. Starting point: cleaning the contacts on the cartridge point.
Perdrix24 wrote: Tue Dec 15, 2020 2:22 am Don't mix and match drivers from different places. The latest is https://www.atari-forum.com/download/file.php?id=42843 .
Read carefully the instructions. There is a known conflict with Sting. I run the USB drivers in AUTO folder and uiptool from the desktop, no problem together.
Yeah, I'm taking the 06.zip drivers plus anything mentioned under 'files' on the store page.

netus.tos, I'm not sure where I collected that one; the binary I have is dated 27-04-2007. With no devices connected, it gives me a clean test now!

The 'Etherne' package contains a bunch of test programs:
  • ht1enec.tos: repeatedly spits out whatever value it reads; typically this is 0x22 or 0x23. (The docs suggest that maybe this should be 0xff?)
  • ht2enec.tos: reads the first few bytes from the PROM, and the MAC addr bytes it reads agree with what UIP310 says. (More on UIP310 in a moment.)
  • ht3enec.tos: does ... nothing other than print title/author before stopping. But at least the readme for ht3enec.tos only says "This needs fixing.", so, okay.
  • ht4enec.tos: shows me some writes and reads that all match. Ideal.
geogeo28 wrote: Tue Dec 15, 2020 1:22 am Not sure if this can help you. I have the same issue with my Atari Falcon (same error message, driver initialization failed...).
The reset circuit is a little weak due to some bad capacitors (I am waiting new caps to fix that).
To workaround this problem, I boot the Flacon with the NetUSBee. At the TOS, I remove gently the cartridge and reinsert it (be careful when you do it). I obtain 6 bombs. Push the reset button and rerun again uip. This time no issue.

I suggest that you check the PSU and recap the motherboard.
Alright, I was skeptical, but this worked (only difference was I got 4 bombs). I haven't repeated the test to know if removing/inserting solves the problem, but on booting a second time, uip310.tos came up, made a DHCP request, and I was good to go! So at least I know it works.

The PSU I have in this machine is one of exxos's red edition PSUs so that part at least is good. Which other caps do you think are suspect?

Finally: I partitioned a USB stick and I was able to read from a (small) partition. I thought I could create a ~500MB partition, and TOS does see partitions that I create, but seems unwilling to read larger ones.

So that means I've had some success with a USB mouse, USB mass storage, and ethernet. I'm so, so happy with all the work folks put in to these things. So my main questions: am I "doing it right"? Is the behaviour of uip or ht3enec suspicious? Should ht1enec give me a different result? Is netus.tos obsolete and/or have I found an especially old build?
geogeo28
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Tue Sep 29, 2020 11:42 pm

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by geogeo28 »

In my case, I know for sure the reset circuit (capacitors and even one diode need to be changed next to the reset button). I don't have yet the correct capacitors to do the work. I suspect the cartridge port is not initialized properly or a timing issue. Anyway, you know for sure the NetUSBee is working.
Perdrix24
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 138
Joined: Mon Feb 26, 2018 1:47 pm
Location: Québec, Canada
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by Perdrix24 »

So my main questions: am I "doing it right"?
I think so, on the USB side. On the network side, you may want to see these links:

http://www.mega-ste.com/netusbee_n_sting.htm
https://bitbucket.org/sqward/uip-tools/downloads/
http://hardware.atari.org/manuals/netsoft.htm
stween
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:38 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by stween »

Perdrix24 wrote: Tue Dec 22, 2020 3:23 am
So my main questions: am I "doing it right"?
I think so, on the USB side. On the network side, you may want to see these links:

http://www.mega-ste.com/netusbee_n_sting.htm
https://bitbucket.org/sqward/uip-tools/downloads/
http://hardware.atari.org/manuals/netsoft.htm
Nice, thanks!

Now I think about it: is the source for STing available anywhere?
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2310
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by mikro »

stween
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 8
Joined: Sat Mar 07, 2015 6:38 am

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by stween »

Cool; thank you!
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1000
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by Rustynutt »

simonsunnyboy wrote: Mon Dec 14, 2020 7:08 am
stween wrote: Sun Dec 13, 2020 11:07 pm uip flashes an error about not running with STiK then bails, but Lotharek's store points to it. Should it run?
UIP has its own TCP/IP stack and never runs with any STik/STing compatible stack running. It is either this or that.
Boot your machine clean without any AUTO stuff, then UIP should run fine.

Or use a boot manager like InsaneBoot to configure different environments.
This has to be the cleanest TCP/IP setup yet. Would there be a way to pass http address to say, CAB in the future?
simonsunnyboy
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5309
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 4:36 pm
Location: Friedrichshafen, Germany
Contact:

Re: NetUSBee TOS driver

Post by simonsunnyboy »

Rustynutt wrote: Mon Dec 28, 2020 7:45 am
simonsunnyboy wrote: Mon Dec 14, 2020 7:08 am
stween wrote: Sun Dec 13, 2020 11:07 pm uip flashes an error about not running with STiK then bails, but Lotharek's store points to it. Should it run?
UIP has its own TCP/IP stack and never runs with any STik/STing compatible stack running. It is either this or that.
Boot your machine clean without any AUTO stuff, then UIP should run fine.

Or use a boot manager like InsaneBoot to configure different environments.
This has to be the cleanest TCP/IP setup yet. Would there be a way to pass http address to say, CAB in the future?
I doubt so. A new CAB.OVL would be necessary to run its own TCP/IP stack. UIP and its stack is entirely woven together and as far as I know not meant to provide its services to other applications yet.
Simon Sunnyboy/Paradize - http://paradize.atari.org/

Stay cool, stay Atari!

1x2600jr, 1x1040STFm, 1x1040STE 4MB+TOS2.06+SatanDisk, 1xF030 14MB+FPU+NetUS-Bee
Post Reply

Return to “Hardware”