SoundLab

All about modules/digital tunes in a variety of tracker & sampled formats

Moderators: Mug UK, lotek_style, Moderator Team

susher
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:06 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by susher »

What hardware does it use to sample the audio?
CosmicPuppet
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:07 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by CosmicPuppet »

susher wrote: Tue Nov 10, 2020 10:59 pm What hardware does it use to sample the audio?
I don't use any. I just put clips on the Atari and they play from my VGA adapter's audio out.

Here is a snapshot of its output options:
Sound Lab Outputs.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
susher
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 132
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2015 7:06 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by susher »

I wonder if it'll work with one of these. (This was part of a job lot I got with my STE a few years ago.)
IMG_2102.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by Atari74user »

Sound Lab can utilise Atari cartridge based ADCs, but it will be a matter of trying it out. I have never tried in favour of other 8 or 16-bit samplers and sample editors.

This is handy of sorts: http://www.atarimania.com/mags/hi_res/a ... 041_29.jpg

Both Sample Master and Sound Lab are 8-bit mono, Sound Lab can handle samples up to 30 kHz, Sound Master with it's own software up to 25 kHz, so it could be a compatible cartridge.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1160
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: SoundLab

Post by dma »

An important notice on this : -> Never unplug the cart when Sound Lab is running.

It "fried" the ST at home back in the days, when the same move didn't bothered the software coming with the (ST Replay) cart.
User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: SoundLab

Post by mrbombermillzy »

susher wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 11:17 am I wonder if it'll work with one of these. (This was part of a job lot I got with my STE a few years ago.)
IMG_2102.jpg
Interesting. Looks like an early version of one of the AVR replay 8-bit carts.

I would imagine most sample manipulation programs back then are compatible with the standard 8 bit sample carts by AVR as they were fairly popular. Try plugging the cart in and playing back an 8 bit signed and unsigned sample. One of these options should play fine. Just make sure the volume is low for the one that doesnt! :lol:

Not so sure about the Replay Pro or 16 though. SOME packages supported the Pro. I think only Sequencer one/BT/2 were the only things to utilise the Replay 16, other than their own editors (which were actually quite good, especially the higher end ones).
User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by Atari74user »

mrbombermillzy wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:07 pm Interesting. Looks like an early version of one of the AVR replay 8-bit carts.
Actually Sample Master was kind of a "break away" product from AVR / 2-Bit Systems released in 1991 to introduce people to sound and music on the "ST". So definitely related, the software does have the same GUI as the Replay series prior to Pro Series 16 / Stereo Replay / Replay 16 / Clarity 16.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders
User avatar
mrbombermillzy
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 379
Joined: Tue Sep 13, 2016 9:24 am

Re: SoundLab

Post by mrbombermillzy »

Atari74user wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 4:46 pm
Actually Sample Master was kind of a "break away" product from AVR / 2-Bit Systems released in 1991 to introduce people to sound and music on the "ST". So definitely related, the software does have the same GUI as the Replay series prior to Pro Series 16 / Stereo Replay / Replay 16 / Clarity 16.
Cool. I must admit, I havent seen one of these carts in the wild (along with the more expensive version of the Replay 16).
Showaddywaddy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 676
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:01 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: SoundLab

Post by Showaddywaddy »

ok

Soundlab 1.11 'cracked' now as well...

Cheers
Shw
CosmicPuppet
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:07 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by CosmicPuppet »

Atari74user wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:14 pm Sound Lab can utilise Atari cartridge based ADCs, but it will be a matter of trying it out. I have never tried in favour of other 8 or 16-bit samplers and sample editors.

This is handy of sorts: http://www.atarimania.com/mags/hi_res/a ... 041_29.jpg

Both Sample Master and Sound Lab are 8-bit mono, Sound Lab can handle samples up to 30 kHz, Sound Master with it's own software up to 25 kHz, so it could be a compatible cartridge.
It says Medium Resolution, but I can't get any versions to display in anything other than High Resolution. In medium the text and images are all jumbled up.
CosmicPuppet
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:07 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by CosmicPuppet »

dma wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 12:19 pm An important notice on this : -> Never unplug the cart when Sound Lab is running.

It "fried" the ST at home back in the days, when the same move didn't bothered the software coming with the (ST Replay) cart.
Good to know. Though I treat my Atari like a baby. :lol:
CosmicPuppet
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2020 9:07 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by CosmicPuppet »

Showaddywaddy wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 5:03 pm ok

Soundlab 1.11 'cracked' now as well...

Cheers
Shw
Thank you so much for doing that! 8)
User avatar
Atari74user
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 394
Joined: Mon Aug 10, 2009 8:00 pm

Re: SoundLab

Post by Atari74user »

Showaddywaddy wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 5:03 pm ok

Soundlab 1.11 'cracked' now as well...

Cheers
Shw
Nice! :cheers:

@CosmicPuppet, ironically Medium is OK for me, at least the version 1.0 and 1.1, however i tend to use everything in High, where supported at least.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Atari Falcon 14mb, 68882, Dual 8gb CF, Steinberg FDI & Analog 8
Atari Jaguar, Rotary controller, Skunkboard & Cat Box
Atari 520STFM 4mb, TOS 2.06 switcher, OverScan, GigaFile, PARCP-USB, Unicorn-USB, System Solutions MiniS HD, SyQuest drives, ICD Link II, PhatBoy MIDI Controller, Philip Rees 5M MIDI merge box, SoundPool MO4, Steinberg MIDEX, SMP II, Emagic Log 3, C-Lab Unitor 2, Combiner & Export expanders
User avatar
frank.lukas
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 1977
Joined: Tue Jan 29, 2008 5:33 pm
Location: Germany

Re: SoundLab

Post by frank.lukas »

Soundlab works over a graphiccard but only in 640x480 and two colors ...
fancy Atari Musik anDA Dance "Agare Hinu Harukana" 1998 ATARI http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JX10fxb5eYE
User avatar
charles
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2725
Joined: Tue Aug 17, 2004 12:11 am
Location: ont. Canada
Contact:

Re: SoundLab

Post by charles »

was Damien jones in Depeche mode or was that gareth jones?

edit

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gareth_Jo ... _producer)
The radioactive half-life : )
Atari is a lifestyle,not a hobby.
HOLD ON ! ! ! Im printing unreadable characters ...!
Post Reply

Return to “The Digital Department”