Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Hardware, coding, music, graphic and various applications

Moderators: Mug UK, moondog/.tSCc., lp, [ProToS], Moderator Team

Post Reply
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1641
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Rustynutt »

Badwolf wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:03 pm
Rustynutt wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 8:51 pm Did you happen to note where your TS and TA started/fell with respect to the BUS clock?
Was it where it should be (MOT spec), or is 16MHz lazy enough to fall withing range?
Mine's an 030..! :?

BW
I'll be damned. Bypassing the clock patch, feeding COMBEL clock to GALS and AB via expansion BUS can actually hear the Falcon reset through the speaker, which I've never heard with other configurations.

I'm getting VIDEL SYNC out, no image.

BUT, another first, with the diagnostic cartridge inserted, actually get a scrambled video output!

So there was indeed something to do with the BUS GAL clock delay.

Crap, and thought I was done with it all!

Need that 060 friendly diagnostic image.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Badwolf »

Glad you've made some progress, although I am surprised that's had such an effect. ~10ns compared to a 62.5ns cycle seems immaterial, but who knows: perhaps those PALs were using every inch of that overhead already. :)

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1641
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Rustynutt »

Badwolf wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:52 pm Glad you've made some progress, although I am surprised that's had such an effect. ~10ns compared to a 62.5ns cycle seems immaterial, but who knows: perhaps those PALs were using every inch of that overhead already. :)

BW
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1BMd1o3 ... sp=sharing is the document for an Amiga 040 card that got me looking into the TS/TA lines.
The AB040 already utilizes the 88915 as described in the document.
Reading through it after obtaining a better understanding of it all, not sure the AB is that far off timing wise as it is running
at 46/23MHz and decent fast ram burst speeds, where the Amiga board it states it crashes as soon as the caches are enabled.
I've hit a wall at 46MHz, 48MHz crashes as soon as the Tool Kit installs fast ram.
Seeing how without the driver Tool Kit it, the 040 and AB will run at 55MHz, thought there may be another inch had by looking into
widening TS as proposed. To determine that, need an LA.
Wether or not that has anything to do with the 060 adapter, dunno. Again, monitoring some signals on RST would provide some insight.

also of interest https://drive.google.com/file/d/1hbVi3p ... sp=sharing
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1641
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Rustynutt »

Badwolf wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 9:52 pm Glad you've made some progress, although I am surprised that's had such an effect. ~10ns compared to a 62.5ns cycle seems immaterial, but who knows: perhaps those PALs were using every inch of that overhead already. :)

BW
Misquoted you in another post, wrongly remembered you saying the bus cycle 16ns.
62ns, can drive a "bus" through that :lol:

Last thing I noticed using the 060 adapter, where on the MC88915, the Q clock output (meter reading only) is 1.74Vcc for Q, 2.4Vcc for Q/2, 2XQ measures only .84Vcc. Guess I'm out of tools atm.
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Badwolf »

For anyone who's been following this thread from the beginning, or comes to it from a search, the final outcome of all this to-in and fro-ing is over in this other thread when I build up what will hopefully be the first release version: viewtopic.php?t=41694

Notes at the DFB wiki will be updated over the next couple of of weeks: https://github.com/dh219/DFB/wiki

Cheers,

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1641
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Rustynutt »

Badwolf wrote: Wed Mar 23, 2022 7:25 pm For anyone who's been following this thread from the beginning, or comes to it from a search, the final outcome of all this to-in and fro-ing is over in this other thread when I build up what will hopefully be the first release version: viewtopic.php?t=41694

Notes at the DFB wiki will be updated over the next couple of of weeks: https://github.com/dh219/DFB/wiki

Cheers,

BW
Dave, have some questions on how you solved a few problems. Would you prefer PM or forum post?
Thanks for all the work (and help!)
User avatar
Orion_
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 482
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Orion_ »

any chance of someone making/selling a prebuilt version ?
My retro games shop including Atari ST/Falcon/Firebee games ! -- Free Atari games/demos/tools -- Free Falcon demos/tools
Atari Falcon 030 14MB // Atari Mega STe 4MB + SD2SCSI 1GB + Pico PSU + Gotek HxC // Atari STe 2MB
Rustynutt
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1641
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2012 7:38 am
Location: Oregon

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Rustynutt »

Orion_ wrote: Thu Mar 24, 2022 6:59 am any chance of someone making/selling a prebuilt version ?
In the FB Falcon group, there is member that has the new board in hand and is starting the build. In a photo, looked like he ordered more than one board.
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Badwolf »

Rustynutt wrote: Thu Mar 24, 2022 6:42 am Dave, have some questions on how you solved a few problems. Would you prefer PM or forum post?
Thanks for all the work (and help!)
Shoot on here.

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
Badwolf
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 300
Joined: Thu Mar 16, 2017 12:09 pm

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by Badwolf »

Orion_ wrote: Thu Mar 24, 2022 6:59 am any chance of someone making/selling a prebuilt version ?
I think I need to get a few home users to build their own first. If it can be shown to work across a few different people's machines then we might be able to tempt a builder like mpattonm, exxos or one of the Amiga guys to price up an order.

BW
Falcdate Use the internet to work around dead Falcon NVRAM battery
Smalliermouse ST-optimised USB mouse adapter based on SmallyMouse2
DFB External 030 and AltRAM for the Falcon (under development)
User avatar
alexh
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2878
Joined: Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:52 pm
Location: UK - Oxford
Contact:

Re: Using the Falcon's expansion connector

Post by alexh »

I'd be interested depending on the complexity of the build.
Post Reply

Return to “Professionals”