BeePi 1.1

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Hi,

BeePi 1.1 is finally out and brings compatibility with the RPi4 while maintaining compatibility with the Rpi3.
Beepi : https://mega.nz/file/x5VTxARD#PzXhrfPHT ... -OWNbRFvs0
Setup video : https://youtu.be/fDw_zeEXrxI

What's new :
- Raspbian Buster light with Rpi4 compatibility
- Updated Hatari 2.2.1
- Updated Emutos 1.0. Emutos is the default Tos for Hatari
- Updated Mint 1.19-76b
- Updated softwares : Troll 1.8F, Litchi 1.3I, Vision 4.7b2, Kronos 2.03, shutdown ...
- Much less, but unfortunately still present, freeze at boot.
- Root account disabled.
- New ssh login : ssh pi@beepi
- Boot time is unfortunately a few seconds longer (Debian Buster constraint)

Image
In the chart, Your Computer is BeePi RPi3 JIT

In term of performance for the Rpi4, Hatari is working flawlessly even with exact cycle parameters on and demos are much more fluid.
Aranym standard is showing a 2X boost which is consistent with web benchmarks, BUT, Aranym JIT CPU is 5% slower than the Rpi3, all the other benchmark items being 2 to 3x faster.
How is it possible ? Well, Aranym JIT compiler has been optimized for the Rpi3, not for the RPi4. This issue has been raised to Aranym group and I hope that a RPi4 optimized JIT version be done one day.

I let you analyze the comparison vs a Vampire board as the results are quite pleasing. 8)

Image
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12943
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by wongck »

:thumbs:
Great work !!
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1468
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Nice, Thank you! Time to get a RPi4. How much memory do you have in your RPi4?
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

I have a 4 GB.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

Nice to hear. Is ARAnyM still 1.0.2?
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Yes. Versions above 1.02 have bugs on ARM.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
dhedberg
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1206
Joined: Mon Aug 30, 2010 8:36 am
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by dhedberg »

So nice! Thanks!
Daniel, New Beat - http://newbeat.atari.org.
Like demos? Have a look at our new Falcon030 demo It's that time of the year again, or click here to feel the JOY.
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 781
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by stormy »

Thanks Philippe, appreciated!!!
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

I tried to run the new version on my Pi 3B, but something is wrong with the HDMI video output.

My montor (LG Flatron L1942PK, 1280x1024) says:
DIGITAL
OUT OF RANGE
67.3kHz / 60Hz

Is it just something I can set up in config.txt?

Update:
After uncommenting "hdmi_safe=1", the monitor is quiet, but the screen remains black. :(
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Is your monitor HDMI or do you use an adapter HDMI -> VGA or DVI ?
Beware of the compatibility of such adapter, I already had many bad surprises. It's a kind of bingo ;-)

If your screen is HDMI, in config.txt try to comment the last line : hdmi_ignore_edid=0xa5000080

If it doesn't help, you'll need to force the resolution in config.txt by adding :
hdmi_group=2
hdmi_mode=35
which is 1280x1024 60 Hz

https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... t/video.md
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

I am using a HDMI -> DVI cable. But that worked with no problem with BeePi 1.0.
But commenting "hdmi_ignore_edid" seems to solve the issue. "hdmi_safe" can remain commented.

BeePi 1.1 is up and running now. Tomorrow I am going to try to migrate the changes I did to 1.0.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

I have discovered 2 bugs with samba shares and remote printing. With the issue of Count with HDMI_ignore_edid flag, that's 3 bugs.
I will release a corrective soon, but before I'd like to have other feedbacks, just in case.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1468
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

My Pi4 is on order. I'll be trying in out as soon as it arrives.
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

Both, ARAnyM and Hatari, are using X11 output now. And both run veeery slow on the Pi 3B with low resolutions being scaled to screen size. I changed the script for me to not use X11 until my Pi 4 arrives.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

My bad ! I did all the tests with the Rpi4 and only checked that it was booting and running on the RPi3. Big mistake.
I agree for Hatari, but you said both : do you see a slow down with Aranym too? I don't see any and benchmark is consistent ; there is only 3% difference between X11 and Framebuffer version ; not really significant.

For the RPi4 I need to use X11 for Hatari as SDL2 for frame buffer (Retropie version) is very slow, and SDL 1.2 is not scaling aranym screen properly.
I am afraid that I have to make 2 distribs : one for the Rpi3 optimized for the frame buffer (in fact just update 1.0 Atari side), and this one for the Rpi4.
I was hoping not to have to do that. Now it's clear that I must.
Thanks for your feedback.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

From my point of view there is no need to make two distributions. You can check /proc/cpuinfo to get the information about the Pi version and then either populate app2start and run startx (if it's Pi4) or run aranym-jit and hatari directly.

Aranym isn't really slower when running your MiNT setup which doesn't have to scale the video output. But I have another configuration running TOS 4.04 with 640x480x16. And scaling that resolution to my monitor's 1280x960 makes it really slow. Same with Hatari: running Hatari without scaling to my montor's resolution is fast. But that's ok during MiNT booting, but you cannot really work with such a small picture. ;)
User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 519
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Gaiyan »

Thanks!
Image
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Count wrote: Sat Oct 10, 2020 4:23 pm From my point of view there is no need to make two distributions. You can check /proc/cpuinfo to get the information about the Pi version and then either populate app2start and run startx (if it's Pi4) or run aranym-jit and hatari directly.
Good point. Thanks
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

Anyway, the possibility to avoid SDL is definitely a step forward.

At least for me and my SDL keyboard issue:
https://www.atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f=51&t=37917
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 781
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by stormy »

I noticed you mention root account disabled etc for beepi - could you point me in the right direction for doing this in my own Easymint installations on my Ataris. How to change the default user. Is it possible to set passwords too.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

stormy wrote: Sat Oct 10, 2020 9:56 pm I noticed you mention root account disabled etc for beepi - could you point me in the right direction for doing this in my own Easymint installations on my Ataris. How to change the default user. Is it possible to set passwords too.
When I say root account disabled, I refer to the host Linux, not Mint.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 87
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

In which way is the root account disabled? You can still become root with "sudo su -", set a new password and log in. SSH root login is disabled, that's right.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Shoot, I can't modify the first post !

So this is the update BeePi 1.1.a : https://mega.nz/file/A00yHDhA#elto39FyL ... aj3OGcII6g

It corrects the boot video issue, optimisation for Rpi3, corrected samba and remote printer apps.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 826
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Count wrote: Sun Oct 11, 2020 5:53 pm In which way is the root account disabled? You can still become root with "sudo su -", set a new password and log in. SSH root login is disabled, that's right.
You can't login as root by default nor in bash nor in ssh, to the contrary of BeePi 1.0. May be "disable" isn't the right word.
You are right you can enable root account just by setting the password. SSH server root access can be enabled too, by the way.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon, STE, Aranym Box, Hatari Pi Box.
My music: https://soundcloud.com/you/sets
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1468
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Faucon2001 wrote: Mon Oct 12, 2020 1:00 pm Shoot, I can't modify the first post !

So this is the update BeePi 1.1.a : https://mega.nz/file/A00yHDhA#elto39FyL ... aj3OGcII6g

It corrects the boot video issue, optimisation for Rpi3, corrected samba and remote printer apps.
Getting an error extracting this new version. Can you check the archive? I downloaded it a couple of times to be sure.
Post Reply

Return to “Other emulators & tools”