BeePi 1.1

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

stormy wrote: Mon Nov 02, 2020 4:18 pm Doesn't Aranym have a git issue log or something? Maybe someone can help.
Yeah, it'd be nice to get this issue fixed once and for all.
AnachronyX
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 23
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by AnachronyX »

Mug UK wrote: Mon Nov 02, 2020 11:19 am Now that the Raspberry Pi 400 is out (https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry ... mputer-kit), and I seemed to have accidentally ordered one, I guess that will be my BeePi machine.
In this video are shown some suggestion to modded cases: https://youtu.be/nopc7mJUDkM?t=676. The Atari ST one is absent, but it would be awesome.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

I believe that I have found a fix for the 1st boot freezing issue.
1 -Open raspi-config and choose "Boot Options" and activate "Wait for Network at Boot"
2 - Edit rc.local and add before #Set auto printing :

Code: Select all

sudo date -s "$(wget -qSO- --max-redirect=0 google.com 2>&1 | grep Date: | cut -d' ' -f5-8)Z"
I haven't had any freeze at first boot for a week now, testing it several times per day. The counterpart is that boot time is significantly longer, but it seems the price to pay.

During my testing, I realized that at first power on boot, the date and time was wrong. RPi doesn't have a permanent clock and rely on network to update time. Digging around, I noticed that every morning, i.e when day date was different, the system systematically froze.

Could it be that aranym, Emutos or mint froze when the system date is different from the host date? I can't explain.
Finally, waiting for network and forcing the RPi clock update before Aranym start seems to have solved the issue.
I remain cautious regarding the conclusion. I am waiting for your confirmation before committing any update.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

Why do you ask Google instead of installing ntpdate and running "sudo ntpdate pool.ntp.org"?
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Reading on the net suggesting this instead of ntpdate. With *nix there are thousand ways to do the same thing.
If you have a better solution, you are welcome.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
theimann
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:00 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by theimann »

I can't get the image to work.

1. Downloaded beepi-1_1_a.zip file from mega.nz
2. Unzipped the archive.
3. Put the image on a 64 GB micro SD card using the Raspberry Pi Imager as instructed.
4. Tried to boot the image on a RPI4.
5. Got a kernel panic (unable to mount root fs)

MD5(beepi-1_1.img)= d6060b6775d675cb5fdc73886653cb00
MD5(beepi-1_1.zip)= 9371360b13335bd7ab18f78b8fd81e0b

Other images work just fine using the same SD card and hardware.

As a side note, I'd really appreciate if the download wasn't mega.nz exclusive.
It's a horrible place and if everyone was doing downloads the way they are the Internet would be even more crappy than it already is.

P.S. Love your project and work on this even though I can't check it out myself.
Atari 520ST | Atari 1040ST | Atari Mega 1 | Atari 1040STE | Atari MegaSTE | Atari TT 030 | Atari Falcon 030
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Ok, I did the change, but I used ntpdate. It wasn't installed so maybe you can add that it to beepi with the next update. I had to do a 'sudo apt-get install ntpdate'.

So far no freezes, but the real test will be in the morning after the date changes as you say. I don't mind the boot time tbh, but it is increased. The only problem I have with this is will it boot if no network. If the network was not present and just wanted to play a game in hatari, it would be impossible right? Kind of against the Atari way in a sense.

Now a question: My phweather display disappeared somehow. I see it running when I open the task window with Ctrl-Alt-L. What can I try to get it to show up again?
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12960
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by wongck »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 5:09 pm Now a question: My phweather display disappeared somehow. I see it running when I open the task window with Ctrl-Alt-L. What can I try to get it to show up again?
Weird I wonder why would it disappear? I assume that the positioning is just off the desktop.
You can force it to use default values by renaming or deleting phweathr.cfg.
You would have to re-setup your cities.
Hope this helps.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

theimann wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 2:46 pm I can't get the image to work.

MD5(beepi-1_1.img)= d6060b6775d675cb5fdc73886653cb00
MD5(beepi-1_1.zip)= 9371360b13335bd7ab18f78b8fd81e0b

As a side note, I'd really appreciate if the download wasn't mega.nz exclusive.
It's a horrible place and if everyone was doing downloads the way they are the Internet would be even more crappy than it already is.
Your download may be corrupted : here is the MD5.
beepi-1_1_a.zip = 0354d0359aac586934ebeceae6067d41
beepi-1_1_a.img = 347b6f01bbbe01717b963730329d06f1
The latest version is beep-1_1_a.
It's kind of a strange and annoying issue ; 3 persons had issues downloading and in the end it was an issue with browser or unpacking software. I have tested the download 4 times on my Mac, and everything was fine. Something looks fishy with mega.nz download.

Here is another link : https://app.box.com/s/u10c6vi1irpzv2hbi8zke0raluuzp83a
I have been obliged to split the image in 250 MB chuncks.
Why do you reject mega.nz? Is it because of the sulfurous owner or other reason? reliability issues?
The reason why I use it is that I have 50GB of free storage and you can upload big files. I am not ready yet to pay 10€ per month for BeePi storage. If you have a better option, I'll take it.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 5:09 pm Ok, I did the change, but I used ntpdate. It wasn't installed so maybe you can add that it to beepi with the next update. I had to do a 'sudo apt-get install ntpdate'.

So far no freezes, but the real test will be in the morning after the date changes as you say. I don't mind the boot time tbh, but it is increased. The only problem I have with this is will it boot if no network. If the network was not present and just wanted to play a game in hatari, it would be impossible right? Kind of against the Atari way in a sense.

Now a question: My phweather display disappeared somehow. I see it running when I open the task window with Ctrl-Alt-L. What can I try to get it to show up again?
I will look into ntpdate.
If the network is not present, IIRC there is a time out.
Boot with network from switch on to Mint desktop : 50s
Boot without network from switch on to Mint desktop : 1m12s
May be a RPi permanent clock hat could be the solution until we understand where the problem comes from.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 12960
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by wongck »

Rpi does not have a battery powered clock. You set the time via ntp (or google).
But why can't you just set it to Noon 12-Nov-2020 via date ?
Since Rpi don't know the real datetime, any time will do, no ?

BTW, how does it know when the date changed in the morning if Rpi clock dies without power and so does Aranym clock.
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff for sale - click here for list
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

wongck wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 1:55 pm Rpi does not have a battery powered clock.
I think, Philippe suggests adding something like this:
https://pimylifeup.com/raspberry-pi-rtc/
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

wongck wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 1:55 pm Rpi does not have a battery powered clock. You set the time via ntp (or google).
But why can't you just set it to Noon 12-Nov-2020 via date ?
Since Rpi don't know the real datetime, any time will do, no ?

BTW, how does it know when the date changed in the morning if Rpi clock dies without power and so does Aranym clock.
I know that RPi doesn’t have a permanent clock, but time is synced at boot of Debian from a time server. Only a battery clock hat can give you one.
The issue is that time sync takes place roughly 1min after boot ends. During this period RPi clock gives you the date and time you last used it. So when Aranym start, the time is let us say yesterday 8 pm, and 1 min later it’s today 10 am because that’s the delay that Debian takes to query and sync the time online.

waiting for network connection to boot and forcing the clock update before starting Aranym seems to fix the Aranym / Emutos / Mint freeze.
Why ? I don’t have a clue.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

wongck wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 2:02 am
TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Wed Nov 11, 2020 5:09 pm Now a question: My phweather display disappeared somehow. I see it running when I open the task window with Ctrl-Alt-L. What can I try to get it to show up again?
Weird I wonder why would it disappear? I assume that the positioning is just off the desktop.
You can force it to use default values by renaming or deleting phweathr.cfg.
You would have to re-setup your cities.
Hope this helps.
Deleted the cfg file and it shows up agaIn. Thanks.

BeePi started up fine today with no freezing.
theimann
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 01, 2017 1:00 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by theimann »

Faucon2001 wrote: Thu Nov 12, 2020 11:09 am

Here is another link : https://app.box.com/s/u10c6vi1irpzv2hbi8zke0raluuzp83a
I have been obliged to split the image in 250 MB chuncks.
Why do you reject mega.nz? Is it because of the sulfurous owner or other reason? reliability issues?
The reason why I use it is that I have 50GB of free storage and you can upload big files. I am not ready yet to pay 10€ per month for BeePi storage. If you have a better option, I'll take it.
Thanks, that worked!
I don't have a problem with Kim, he is (or used to be) great entertainment value. I just don't like the way they're handling the downloads (browser access to local file storage), but then again browsers expose these APIs so it's not really on mega.nz
Atari 520ST | Atari 1040ST | Atari Mega 1 | Atari 1040STE | Atari MegaSTE | Atari TT 030 | Atari Falcon 030
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Hi,

So after 2 weeks, does the fix solved the boot freezing on your side? A feed back would be appreciated.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

I haven't had any freezes, but I haven't used it everyday. So I wouldn't consider my feedback proof. Have you had any other freezes?
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

From my side, no freeze neither.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
pit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:53 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by pit »

thanks for the job !!!
this time, it's more fun to use with a rpi4 :-)

for your info, 1.1A zip file has no problem to be unzipped under Macos BUT... impossible to flash the image on the SD with BalenaEtcher (image corrupted) !
then I decided to use Windows. Under Windows, impossible to unzip with the Win10 integrated tool or winrar.... I had to use 7ZIP which succeed. Then the SD car flash was ok also under windows

my conclusion: yes, there are some problems with the image in the ZIP

pit
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

I agree with you there is something wrong, that's why I have changed recently the download link on my site to a different provider and redo the archive. But in the end it remains a mystery for me.

It's now split into 6 files and 7-zipped. Do you still have a problem with this one?
https://app.box.com/s/u10c6vi1irpzv2hbi8zke0raluuzp83a

You can also use Raspberry Pi imager, that's the official app to flash SD.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
pit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:53 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by pit »

HI

just e a quick question: once beepi has been configured and launched, how to go back to the initial setup for example to change wifi parameters ???

Pit
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by stormy »

pit wrote: Wed Nov 25, 2020 11:32 pm HI

just e a quick question: once beepi has been configured and launched, how to go back to the initial setup for example to change wifi parameters ???

Pit
Maybe this:
https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k ... the-manual
"System Setup is opened from the desktop with right click Setup/System Setup."
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
pit
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 5
Joined: Sun Jul 12, 2020 4:53 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by pit »

thanks for the link to the manual !
:)
I wil look it !

Pit
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

I have opened a new thread on BeePi 1.1.b which corrects all the bugs discussed here.
Thank you very much for your contribution. Your help has been key in fixing theses bugs.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
Post Reply

Return to “Other emulators & tools”