BeePi 1.1

WinSTon, Nostalgia, MSA Converter, FloImg, Makedisk and all the others.

Moderators: Mug UK, Moderator Team

User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Ah, just had a freeze even with the "sleep 5". I guess this isn't a perfect workaround for my setup. Hopefully there will be a fix soon.
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

You can try increasing the value.
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Yes, I've been trying different values. So far "sleep 7" is the lowest value without any freezes for my setup. I´ll keep it at that for now until there is a proper fix.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Great news and easy fix. Excellent finding Count !
It confirms that services are not available yet when emulation starts.
Looking at the boot sequence, UML-utilities service has not completed its setup when rc.local is executed. I believe that's the culprit.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

What are UML utilities doing to affect Aranym?
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

Image
UML-utilities is the latest service activated. What it does with Aranym, I don't know.
If I remember well it's part of its dependencies.

rc.local starts with network.target by default. May be I have to change it in order to start after multi-user.target.
I'll look at it tomorrow.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2268
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by mikro »

uml-utilities provides aranym network bridging functionality.
MegaSTEarian
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by MegaSTEarian »

mikro wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 7:59 am uml-utilities provides aranym network bridging functionality.
MegaSTEarian wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 am


PS: you could probably use "After=network.online.target" which means that it will start not only when network service is available but fully connected and I believe that this would be ok for a more smooth startup.

I believe this, waiting for network service to signal it is connected, it is the solution. I will attempt it tonight.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

MegaSTEarian wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 am PS: you could probably use "After=network.online.target" which means that it will start not only when network service is available but fully connected and I believe that this would be ok for a more smooth startup.
Well, it looks like you were righ ! I changed the target of rc-local.service from network.target to network.online.target and so far no more freeze at boot.
Before I tried to change to multi.user.target and it worked too, but only 5 times over 6.
So I guess that we need to test it a little longer before updating BeePi, but it's very encouraging.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
MegaSTEarian
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by MegaSTEarian »

Cheers :)
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Faucon2001 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 12:54 pm
MegaSTEarian wrote: Thu Oct 29, 2020 9:20 am PS: you could probably use "After=network.online.target" which means that it will start not only when network service is available but fully connected and I believe that this would be ok for a more smooth startup.
Well, it looks like you were righ ! I changed the target of rc-local.service from network.target to network.online.target and so far no more freeze at boot.
Before I tried to change to multi.user.target and it worked too, but only 5 times over 6.
So I guess that we need to test it a little longer before updating BeePi, but it's very encouraging.
This sounds very promising. How can I try out this change or does BeePi have to be reinstalled?
MegaSTEarian
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by MegaSTEarian »

There's a new service tutorial here: https://www.raspberrypi.org/documentati ... systemd.md

In essence, as I haven't done it yet I'm speculating, you will have to dive to /etc/systemd/system/ and edit rc-local.service (assuming that rc-local is there as a default service creation). then edit the service file and set it to start "After=network.online.target". using "After" value.
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Just checked and there is no /etc/systemd on BeePi.
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

To do this change.
Quit to host, log in and type :

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl edit --full rc-local.service
modify "After=network.target" with "After=network.online.target"
Ctrl + o to save
Ctrl + x to quit

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl daemon-reload
shutdown -P now
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
MegaSTEarian
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by MegaSTEarian »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 3:58 pm Just checked and there is no /etc/systemd on BeePi.
I'm referring to host OS, see below (or above :) )
Faucon2001 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:05 pm To do this change.
Quit to host, log in and type :

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl edit --full rc-local.service
modify "After=network.target" with "After=network.online.target"
Ctrl + o to save
Ctrl + x to quit

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl daemon-reload
shutdown -P now
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1479
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Faucon2001 wrote: Fri Oct 30, 2020 4:05 pm To do this change.
Quit to host, log in and type :

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl edit --full rc-local.service
modify "After=network.target" with "After=network.online.target"
Ctrl + o to save
Ctrl + x to quit

Code: Select all

sudo systemctl daemon-reload
shutdown -P now
Thanks, made the changes and the initial results look promising. No hangs at boot so far. Fingers crossed.
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

I still have these hangs after changing the service file and reloading the daemons. :(
This is my rc-local.service:

Code: Select all

[Unit]
Description=/etc/rc.local Compatibility
Documentation=man:systemd-rc-local-generator(8)
ConditionFileIsExecutable=/etc/rc.local
After=network.online.target

[Service]
Type=forking
ExecStart=/etc/rc.local start
TimeoutSec=0
RemainAfterExit=yes
GuessMainPID=no
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

-> Count : my bad, it's network-online.target

I had a freeze too this morning, after the whole yesterday afternoon switching on and off successful tests :-(
But the strangest thing was that it unfroze after waiting roughly 1-2 minute.
When it was frozen I could access BeePi with SSH, so network connection was on.
It improves but the issue remains.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

After in depth testing, unfortunately none of the solutions proposed work at 100%, nor "sleep 5 or 7", nor network-online.target, not multi-user.target, or starting with .bashrc.
I have discovered many bizarre stuffs :
- To trigger the problem you have to switch off the RPi for a several minutes and then boot. Subsequent cold boot or quick switch off will work correctly.
- The apparent freeze at first boot is in fact a stop of aranym which resume after roughly 30s to 1min.
- The clock time is not updated at first boot and remains at the same time as when you last switch off the RPi, but if you restart Aranym it will be updated.
It's difficult at this point to conclude if it's an issue with hardware or software activation of the RPi, or a strange behavior of Aranym.
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 2268
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by mikro »

Have you tried to replace Aranym with something else, say, Hatari? That could show you whether it's Aranym or something in the boot process.
User avatar
Count
Atari maniac
Atari maniac
Posts: 90
Joined: Sat Sep 16, 2017 9:15 am
Location: Germany

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Count »

I am using a tweaked BeePi which always boots into the emulator and configuration which has been running the last time the Pi has been shut down. Hatari never causes any such trouble.
User avatar
Mug UK
Administrator
Administrator
Posts: 11541
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 7:16 pm
Location: Stockport (UK)
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Mug UK »

Now that the Raspberry Pi 400 is out (https://thepihut.com/products/raspberry ... mputer-kit), and I seemed to have accidentally ordered one, I guess that will be my BeePi machine.
My main site: http://www.mug-uk.co.uk - slowly digging up the bits from my past (and re-working a few): Atari ST, Sega 8-bit (game hacks) and NDS (Music ripping guide).

I develop a free Word (for Windows) add-in that's available for Word 2007 upwards. It's a fix-it toolbox that will allow power Word users to fix document errors. You can find it at: http://www.mikestoolbox.co.uk
Faucon2001
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 840
Joined: Sat Oct 26, 2013 11:19 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Faucon2001 »

mikro wrote: Sun Nov 01, 2020 3:36 pm Have you tried to replace Aranym with something else, say, Hatari? That could show you whether it's Aranym or something in the boot process.
I have replaced Aranym at boot with Hatari. Hatari is not freezing and works well.
So it's an issue between RPi, Debian and Aranym. It's important to mention that the same setup but on a X86 (Nuc i5) doesn't have this freeze at boot.
What could make Aranym freeze and resume 1 minute later only when there is a "power on" boot ?
Philippe

Firebee, Falcon CT60, STE, BeeKey, BeepiPi.
My photography http://phil-67.deviantart.com/
EasyAraMint, BeeKey and BeePi https://sites.google.com/site/beebox68k/
User avatar
Gaiyan
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 522
Joined: Tue Jun 29, 2004 3:39 pm
Contact:

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by Gaiyan »

Well, now that Raspberry Pi 400 is out, I so want one just for BeePi. I might just do that :)
Image
stormy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 816
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: BeePi 1.1

Post by stormy »

Doesn't Aranym have a git issue log or something? Maybe someone can help.
Falcon CT60e 060 - 256mb ram - Phantom bus and DSP accelerated // Atari TT - Thunder and Storm IDE 64mb ram - Lightning VME - USB LAN - ATI Mach64 2mb
Post Reply

Return to “Other emulators & tools”