Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

A section to cover all the different problems encountered by running game x on system y! Whether it's as simple as a non-STE compatible game through to h/drive installable games. Discuss them all in here.

Moderator: Moderator Team

Post Reply
displaced
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:09 pm

Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by displaced »

Hi!

I’ve been playing a lot of Bitmap Brothers games recently, mainly because they’re all excellent.

I fired up Xenon on my Mega STE. It’s ppera’s fixed version, running from hard disk.

During play, you can hit SPACE to switch between air and ground ships. However, this version of the game seems to switch between the two at random, which really makes it tough to play.

I tried the same version on my UltraSatan equipped STFM and it had the same problem.

I used to have the original back in the day, and I’m 99.99% sure it never changed ship on its own.

Anyone else seeing this issue?
User avatar
christos
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2507
Joined: Tue Apr 13, 2004 8:24 pm
Location: Greece

Re: Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by christos »

I think that wagling the joystick left and right will switch the modes but it's been too long since i ve played it and that wasn't for too long
displaced
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:09 pm

Re: Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by displaced »

Ah, you may well be right! It’s probably much easier to do the ‘waggle’ accidentally when playing with a gamepad like I am these days!
User avatar
Total Eclipse
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Jul 20, 2004 2:20 pm
Location: Sheepy Magna, UK

Re: Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by Total Eclipse »

Yep, waggling the stick is another way of changing your ship.

Unfortunately I found the game pretty unplayable because of the number of times I'd change the ship when I didn't want to.
Atari 1040STfm, Power Computing PC720B external floppy. 40MB HDD
Now playing with MiST :)
Showaddywaddy
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2002 12:01 pm
Location: Montreal, Quebec
Contact:

Re: Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by Showaddywaddy »

I've done a little patch to remove this

https://d-bug.me/

Shw
User avatar
dma
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1181
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2002 11:22 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by dma »

Ahah, some historical annoyance fixed, sweet. :)
displaced
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 68
Joined: Sat Aug 06, 2016 7:09 pm

Re: Xenon 1: Keeps switching between air and ground?

Post by displaced »

Whaat?! Thank you very much indeed - that’s amazing!
Post Reply

Return to “Games - Compatibility Issues etc.”