Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by mikro »

Hi,

I'm happy to announce that my work from a couple of years ago has been finally released. During my stay in Australia I'd completely fixed, rejuvenated, extended and generally brought up to date current atari800 source code for the Falcon target. Unfortunately we couldn't have synced with Petr to make a proper release so at the last year's Atariada he has released 4.0.0 just when I was travelling back home. Only to realise that 4.0.0 is unable to compile for our machines. :)

This time everything went right and we can present you all the previous fixes and improvements and even some new. The Falcon version is so far the only binary available, making it an exclusive release: https://github.com/atari800/atari800/re ... I800_4_1_0

So what are you going to find there:
- speed optimised version
- full featured version
- SDL version
- FireBee version (!)

Hopefully the non-FireBee versions will work also on the Milan, Hades and Aranym. They are not only SuperVidel compatible but they take use SuperVidel's resolution to the max offering 100% emulation speed including sound and smooth scrolling (1:1 VBL mapping). With SuperVidel surely give "-videl" parameter a go, without SuperVidel I also recommend using "-delta" and/or "-refresh 2" parameter which greatly improves the overall performance.
Last edited by mikro on Wed Apr 17, 2019 6:10 pm, edited 2 times in total.
User avatar
Kroll
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 570
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 10:07 am

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by Kroll »

@mikro awesome, thank you veeru much it is working very good with CT63, I can run some atr files without any problems :)
User avatar
Estrayk
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 308
Joined: Mon Nov 23, 2015 2:52 pm
Location: Spain

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by Estrayk »

Thank you very much mikro. It works perfectly

Captured from a real Falcon 060

・Falcon ct60e・Atari MegaSTE ・Atari STe ・
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1199
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by CiH »

Thanks for doing this. The older versions of this emulator were already awesome.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
marss
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 284
Joined: Thu Nov 07, 2002 12:29 pm

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by marss »

Thanks
User avatar
MacFalcon
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 337
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2003 1:00 pm
Location: Muenchberg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by MacFalcon »

Thank you so much :) Was fun to help you fix the last bug :)
Falcon060, 100/25 MHz, 256 MB SD-RAM, PhantomPBS, CTPCI with Radeon, USB and Network Card. atari rulez!
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2207
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Many Thanks!
jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by jury »

Is anyone able to set 320Kb? As when I try to set any of those two 320K settings and then go to loading menu ( F1 ) all I get is a crash and only reset button helps. Same for MiNT and TOS. ( I for sure was able to set 320K many, many years ago in version 2.1.0 )
Anyway, great work from mikro and the a800 team! In 64K it works so far flawlessly.
Playmobil
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 283
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2015 7:40 pm

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by Playmobil »

Just tested under Aranym Windows... Mint+XaAes (Beekey/BeePi setup from Faucon_2001)

Just the SDL version working fine but without sounds...
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by mikro »

jury: yes, there is something strange going on, I have noticed it on Atariada, too. But I was busy with other lousy issues so I didn't care. :-P As a stupid workaround you can set the 320 KB Atari, F5 to reset, then F1 for menu and set the rest.

Playmobil: Aranym/Windows setup issue, works great here (Linux+Aranym+latest FreeMiNT).

EDIT: Btw, while speaking about the SDL version: don't forget to disable the new POKEY emulation in the menu (it's very performance heavy even in Aranym JIT). It is done automatically for the plain Falcon version but the SDL version uses defaults for all SDL platforms.
Last edited by mikro on Mon Apr 15, 2019 5:40 am, edited 2 times in total.
ijor
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 4348
Joined: Sat May 29, 2004 7:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by ijor »

I don't have a Falcon myself. But this is certainly an awesome achievement. Congratulations.
Fx Cast: Atari St cycle accurate fpga core
vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by vido »

Thank you Mikro!
Finaly ;)

Well ... I wait for FireBee binaries :)
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by mikro »

vido wrote:I wait for FireBee binaries :)
So your wait is over as the FB binary is included in the archive. :)
vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by vido »

Thanks Mikro!
I tought there is only Falcon binaries. I didnt check the archive :)
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by mikro »

I agree, it's a bit confusing - "falcon" represents the name of the platform (like SDL, Android, Windows, ...) but it covers everything from the actual Falcon to FireBee. You see, calling it "atari" would be equally confusing as we are actually emulating an atari. ;)
User avatar
wongck
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 13285
Joined: Sat May 03, 2008 2:09 pm
Location: Far East
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by wongck »

use "falcon and beyond"
My Stuff: FB/Falcon CT63 CTPCI ATI RTL8139 USB 512MB 30GB HDD CF HxC_SD/ TT030 68882 4+32MB 520MB Nova/ 520STFM 4MB Tos206 SCSI
Shared SCSI Bus:ScsiLink ethernet, 9GB HDD,SD-reader @ http://phsw.atari.org
My Atari stuff that are no longer for sale due to them over 30 years old - click here for list
User avatar
viking272
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 706
Joined: Mon Oct 13, 2008 12:50 pm
Location: west of London, UK

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by viking272 »

jury
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 376
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2004 11:11 am
Location: Poland

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by jury »

mikro wrote:jury: yes, there is something strange going on, I have noticed it on Atariada, too. But I was busy with other lousy issues so I didn't care. :-P As a stupid workaround you can set the 320 KB Atari, F5 to reset, then F1 for menu and set the rest.
Yeap, this workaround works. Thanks.
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2727
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released

Post by Cyprian »

great news Mikro
Lynx I / Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by mikro »

Good news, everyone!

I have managed to find the culprit of the freezing. Petr agreed to re-release the binaries without further changes so please re-download the archive for all Atari platforms.

I'm not exactly happy about the fix, though. The culprit was using -O3 -fomit-frame-pointer optimisation options together (removing/changing either of them produces good code again), namely for file ui.c. I think this is the last time I have used -O3, I have burned myself in the past, too (as other people did). Nice bonus about using -O2 is that every binary lost about 90 KB what is always good to hear. :)
mikro
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 3005
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2005 11:11 am
Location: Kosice, Slovakia
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by mikro »

mikro wrote:I'm not exactly happy about the fix, though. The culprit was using -O3 -fomit-frame-pointer optimisation options together (removing/changing either of them produces good code again), namely for file ui.c. I think this is the last time I have used -O3, I have burned myself in the past, too (as other people did). Nice bonus about using -O2 is that every binary lost about 90 KB what is always good to hear. :)
Actually I owe gcc an apology here (the usual deal when programmer tends to blame everything but the code ;)).

I was able to reproduce the bug even with released binaries so I had to dig deeper into that. And it took only one full day of painful debugging to get some results. Not only I found a decade old bug in atari800 (basically was there from the beginning) but thanks to czietz's clarification in http://atari-forum.com/viewtopic.php?f= ... 59#p372623 I was able to fix another bug in the SDL versions. So by the end of the day I can say that all versions run reliably with memory protection enabled (knock-knock).

4.1.1 is nearing. ;) In the meantime, ehem, don't run atari800 in FreeMiNT with memory protection.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2841
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by Eero Tamminen »

mikro wrote: Fri Apr 19, 2019 8:27 pm 4.1.1 is nearing. ;) In the meantime, ehem, don't run atari800 in FreeMiNT with memory protection.
On quick search, I did not notice any later update on this site (among all the cert warnings), but I noticed that 4.2 was released few years back in GitHub: https://github.com/atari800/atari800/re ... I800_4_2_0

There's also 5.0.0 released few last month, but it did not provide Falcon version: https://github.com/atari800/atari800/releases

Is that due to new AV1 & MP3 recording features?
User avatar
DarkLord
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5121
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by DarkLord »

Any chance we'll see this for "other" high end Atari's?

I mean, 68030 equipped ST's running at 40-50mhz, 8 megs of ALT-RAM (or more)
6888x chips, etc,... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
1st1
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1165
Joined: Mon May 07, 2012 11:48 am

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by 1st1 »

Oh, that's something to try... the first ATARIs emulated on the last one. I remember in early 1984 that a classmate used to have a 600XL and we spend many hours in his little room with that.
Power without the Price. It's not a bug. It's a feature. _/|\_ATARI

1040STFM in PC-Tower (PAK68/2, OvrScn, 4 MB, 1GB SCSI, CD-ROM...) * 3x Falcon 030 * 3x TT030 * many 260 /520/1040ST(F)(M)(+) * 520/1040STE * many Mega ST * 2x Mega STE * Stacy * STBook * 2x SLM605 * 3x SLM804 * SMM804 * SH 204/205 * Megafile 30/44/60 * SF314 * SF354 * 5x Pofo * PC3 * ...
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1199
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Atari800 4.1.0 for Falcon and clones released (update!)

Post by CiH »

Any chance we'll see this for "other" high end Atari's?

I mean, 68030 equipped ST's running at 40-50mhz, 8 megs of ALT-RAM (or more)
6888x chips, etc,... :)
It does run on Centurbo 2 class hardware, which includes a 50Mhz cpu, just a tad slowly. Around 10 to 20 percent of full speed? Afterburner 040 was quoted at 40 percent by the original author, back in the day. Bear in mind the original isn't closely optimised for Atari 68k in the first instance.
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”