Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

User avatar
chlu600
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:32 am

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by chlu600 »

metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:31 pm
stormy wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:21 pm
metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 12:24 pm Excellent. Impressive work.

Were you able to re-use original logic code or do you had to reimplement it from scratch ?
He says in the first post.
Do not really see where. Is it a problem to repeat something ? The fact the new code in developed in c does not mean there is nothing reused as is somewhere... (in particular as neo geo is 68k based)
In his Youtube channel he answered that question.
It’s a complete rework from scratch.
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:31 pm
stormy wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:21 pm
metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 12:24 pm Excellent. Impressive work.

Were you able to re-use original logic code or do you had to reimplement it from scratch ?
He says in the first post.
Do not really see where. Is it a problem to repeat something ? The fact the new code in developed in c does not mean there is nothing reused as is somewhere... (in particular as neo geo is 68k based)
Nothing is reused,

All game logic code is completely new,
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

chlu600 wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 9:47 pm
metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:31 pm
stormy wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:21 pm

He says in the first post.
Do not really see where. Is it a problem to repeat something ? The fact the new code in developed in c does not mean there is nothing reused as is somewhere... (in particular as neo geo is 68k based)
In his Youtube channel he answered that question.
It’s a complete rework from scratch.
Correct :)
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by farvardin »

I've played it on my MiST, it's amazing! I've used the Mega STE option to reach the 8 mhz speed. I don't understand why the binary has been place into an "auto" folder? If I start it from the HD, it just refuses to load the ressources. I've copied it into the main folder, with all the emx files, and it worked then!
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Marakatti »

Haven't succeeded in loading this yet. Tried on both 4mb STe and MegaSTe with CosmosEx and PP driver taking 41kb of ram. There's absolutely nothing extra than CE boot message and PP driver partition selection. Booting from 511mb partition "J" in this case.
Anyone else with CosmosEx having any success loading this game?
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

farvardin wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 11:46 am I've played it on my MiST, it's amazing! I've used the Mega STE option to reach the 8 mhz speed. I don't understand why the binary has been place into an "auto" folder? If I start it from the HD, it just refuses to load the ressources. I've copied it into the main folder, with all the emx files, and it worked then!
Its designed to be played on real STE machines;
loading directly from AUTO eliminates the need to load GEM environment.

8 MHz is the normal speed for Atari STE machines, MegaSTE can reach 16 MHz, that is not needed but CPU power is always welcome.


FPGA based solutions and CosmosEx, I do not have any of these; only Steem emulator and 2x real STE machines (TOS 1.06 spanish and TOS 1.62 french)
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

Marakatti wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 1:16 pm Haven't succeeded in loading this yet. Tried on both 4mb STe and MegaSTe with CosmosEx and PP driver taking 41kb of ram. There's absolutely nothing extra than CE boot message and PP driver partition selection. Booting from 511mb partition "J" in this case.
Anyone else with CosmosEx having any success loading this game?

CosmosEx appears a pretty advanced device,


However, I only use my own manufactured high performance very low cost hard disk device,
with extremely good results :)
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Marakatti »

masteries wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 1:45 pm
Marakatti wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 1:16 pm Haven't succeeded in loading this yet. Tried on both 4mb STe and MegaSTe with CosmosEx and PP driver taking 41kb of ram. There's absolutely nothing extra than CE boot message and PP driver partition selection. Booting from 511mb partition "J" in this case.
Anyone else with CosmosEx having any success loading this game?

CosmosEx appears a pretty advanced device,


However, I only use my own manufactured high performance very low cost hard disk device,
with extremely good results :)
I guess CosmosEx initializing takes some ram before PP driver loads and that's probably why your game won't launch. CE drivers can be bypassed on boot but maybe some precious bytes gets wasted anyway. It's my only hard disk device.

I guess I need to buy one of your devices for memory hungry stuff... How long waiting line you have at the moment?
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
metalages
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by metalages »

masteries wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 9:52 am
metalages wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 8:31 pm
stormy wrote: Tue Jul 13, 2021 3:21 pm

He says in the first post.
Do not really see where. Is it a problem to repeat something ? The fact the new code in developed in c does not mean there is nothing reused as is somewhere... (in particular as neo geo is 68k based)
Nothing is reused,

All game logic code is completely new,
Thanks :)
Really cool work. Congrats
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by calimero »

Super smooth although you can tell by looking at you tube that gameplay is not from original. It is much harder I would say.

Btw
Can you post at eab forum link to your new video? ;)
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
User avatar
chlu600
Atariator
Atariator
Posts: 21
Joined: Wed Mar 04, 2015 8:32 am

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by chlu600 »

calimero wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 5:01 pm Super smooth although you can tell by looking at you tube that gameplay is not from original. It is much harder I would say.

Btw
Can you post at eab forum link to your new video? ;)
It’s definitive harder than the original Neogeo Arcade. I’ve bought it to our office (along with more classic games). But I havn’t tested the harder options with the arcade.

Better hard when it’s relative short!

Could jagpad be added? 😃
Chris23235
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 304
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 6:52 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Chris23235 »

This is really unbelievable, I just gave it a quick run on my MiST, but I will try how it runs on my MegaSTE tomorrow. Great work.
User avatar
Eero Tamminen
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2834
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 1:11 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Eero Tamminen »

masteries wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 1:41 pm
farvardin wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 11:46 am I've played it on my MiST, it's amazing! I've used the Mega STE option to reach the 8 mhz speed. I don't understand why the binary has been place into an "auto" folder? If I start it from the HD, it just refuses to load the resources. I've copied it into the main folder, with all the emx files, and it worked then!
Its designed to be played on real STE machines;
loading directly from AUTO eliminates the need to load GEM environment.
And the explanation why it works then is that when program is run from AUTO as part of the boot sequence, its working directory is the drive root (not AUTO folder).
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

Marakatti wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 2:38 pm
I guess CosmosEx initializing takes some ram before PP driver loads and that's probably why your game won't launch. CE drivers can be bypassed on boot but maybe some precious bytes gets wasted anyway. It's my only hard disk device.

I guess I need to buy one of your devices for memory hungry stuff... How long waiting line you have at the moment?

Relatively short at this moment, if I receive additional SD card readers,
I could complete the manufacture of all pending units, plus one for you.
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Marakatti »

masteries wrote: Fri Jul 16, 2021 8:57 am
Marakatti wrote: Wed Jul 14, 2021 2:38 pm
I guess CosmosEx initializing takes some ram before PP driver loads and that's probably why your game won't launch. CE drivers can be bypassed on boot but maybe some precious bytes gets wasted anyway. It's my only hard disk device.

I guess I need to buy one of your devices for memory hungry stuff... How long waiting line you have at the moment?

Relatively short at this moment, if I receive additional SD card readers,
I could complete the manufacture of all pending units, plus one for you.
Thanks :) I've placed order to the correct thread. If only one unit is available then for the Mega STe only please.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
YQN
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Jul 22, 2017 6:01 pm
Location: Meaux
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by YQN »

Saw it on video before but playing it is 8O
Thx for sharing!
User avatar
bear
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:44 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by bear »

Is there anyone else who got an Atari STE with TOS 2.06 , and can't get it running? Autoboot, AGT loads everything, black screen and nothing more.
User avatar
Marakatti
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1396
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2005 9:58 am
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by Marakatti »

Yes, it runs out of memory. Hard disk driver consumes too much ram.
-------------< Member of Atarimania >-----------
-< ST / STe / Falcon030 / TT030 archiver >-
-------------> www.atarimania.com <-------------
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

bear wrote: Wed Nov 10, 2021 1:09 pm Is there anyone else who got an Atari STE with TOS 2.06 , and can't get it running? Autoboot, AGT loads everything, black screen and nothing more.
In some days up to 300 KB of RAM could be freed up,

These past days I had many work to do, some Atari stuff would need to be parked for some time...
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
bear
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:44 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by bear »

Looking forward to try coming versions! Thanks, Masteries.
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by masteries »

bear wrote: Thu Nov 11, 2021 7:47 am Looking forward to try coming versions! Thanks, Masteries.

Here, an optimized version that requires 250 KB RAM less:

https://www.gp32spain.com/foros/attachm ... 1636709689


I think, now there are at least 100 KB free for additional enemies or other sprites.
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Wow, that is a huge optmization! Nice work. I would be interested to hear how that was done. That's a huge amount of memory saved.
CiH
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1198
Joined: Wed Feb 11, 2004 4:34 pm
Location: Middle Earth (Npton) UK
Contact:

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by CiH »

Is there a 'like' button anywhere around here?
"Where teh feck is teh Hash key on this Mac?!"
User avatar
bear
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 63
Joined: Fri Jul 02, 2004 4:44 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by bear »

Thank you! Working at last!
stormy
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Metal Slug (Mission 1) port for Atari STE - Completed

Post by stormy »

I think that we really need some kind of Atari 'community member of the year' award. Masteries has done so much, firstly using dml's A.G.T's (Atari game tools, amazing engine and suite) And then creating a storage solution, providing it to people for a great price. This man is not in it for the money, he is doing it for passion... Well done Masteries!
Post Reply

Return to “Coding”