HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Post Reply
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2366
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Just uploaded a new version of the above packages (Viewers and compiler for ST-Guide hypertext files, for TOS/linux/Windows).

Major feature in the new version is support for PDF output (direct conversion of hypertext files to PDF, without any intervening printer driver). May be not perfect yet (see also included READPDF.txt for some limitations), but should be much better than trying to print the files from the OS.

You will find them on http://tho-otto.de/downloads.html
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2366
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by ThorstenOtto »

No one needing PDF about? How disappointing...
stormy
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by stormy »

This is really good, I am sure many people will find it useful! Thank you
User avatar
krupkaj
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 323
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2003 11:00 pm
Location: Olomouc/Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by krupkaj »

Wow I have just found the new version. Will try it soon, thanks!
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Oh, the pdf output will be *very* helpful! My old method is one page at a time and then merging them. Thanks for giving us this option.
User avatar
Entuzio
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Obsessive compulsive Atari behavior
Posts: 116
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:00 pm
Location: Slovenia
Contact:

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by Entuzio »

Thx
In the beginning was a 'Dot', :D https://entuzio.com
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

I finally had a chance to try out the new Save as PDF function with the Linux version of HypView.

I tried two hypertexts, ACSPRO.HYP and SCRIPTER.HYP. When I saved them out to PDF, the resulting files were both 0 byte empty files. Not sure what is causing this.
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2366
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Hm just tried it with acspro: german version (878043 bytes) generates 808 pages. The english version (873017 bytes, i think that is the translation done by you) generates 813 pages). Output is ~5-6MB.

For scripter, i have only one file, 115356 bytes, which generates 210 pages.

Do you get any error messages? Or does the program crash somehow?
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

No errors or crashes when launching a .HYP from the desktop and saving as PDF (even though I get the 0 byte file), but when I start it from the command prompt I get these errors when trying to Save as PDF (with SCRIPTER.HYP):

Code: Select all

PDF ERROR: error_no=1028 (Combination between font and encoder is wrong), detail_no=0
PDF ERROR: error_no=1025 (An invalid document handle was set), detail_no=0
PDF ERROR: error_no=1025 (An invalid document handle was set), detail_no=0
...
...
PDF ERROR: error_no=1025 (An invalid document handle was set), detail_no=0
PDF ERROR: error_no=1025 (An invalid document handle was set), detail_no=0
^^^229 lines total of this same error^^^
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2366
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by ThorstenOtto »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Tue Sep 28, 2021 12:35 pm No errors or crashes when launching a .HYP from the desktop and saving as PDF
They may still occurr, you just dont' see them ;) Have to find a better way to display them in the GUI, they are just written to error output currently.
^^^229 lines total of this same error^^^
That explains the empty file. Once the library gets an error, it does not do anything. Guess i should handle that, too. But the real question is: how do you manage to that first error:
PDF ERROR: error_no=1028 (Combination between font and encoder is wrong), detail_no=0
Can you try (with the command line version) to enforce an output character set:

Code: Select all

$ hcp --charset CP1252 -o acspro.pdf ascpro.hyp
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Ok, tried that command line example.
Lots of warnings and some errors which I redirected to a file:

Code: Select all

./hcp --charset CP1252 -o acspro.pdf /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP 2> acspro.err
compiling /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP to acspro.pdf
Pass 1: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP
The warnings start off like this:

Code: Select all

warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:1: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:1: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:2: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:3: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:4: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:5: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:6: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:6: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:7: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:7: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:8: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:8: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:9: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:9: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:10: invalid UTF-8 sequence; did you forget to specify the input encoding?
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:10: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:12: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:13: plain text outside node ignored
warning: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:14: plain text outside node ignored
Continues with lots of the warnings and some illegal command errors.

And ends with these errors:

Code: Select all

error: /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP:4886: no nodes found
error: cannot start pass2

Here is the complete logged warnings and errors zipped up:
acspro.err.zip
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
vido
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 763
Joined: Mon Jan 31, 2011 7:39 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by vido »

Thank you Otto for this release but I have to report I have exactly the same problem on my FireBee.
So I am looking forward for a possible solution :)
TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Mon Sep 27, 2021 10:47 pm I finally had a chance to try out the new Save as PDF function with the Linux version of HypView.

I tried two hypertexts, ACSPRO.HYP and SCRIPTER.HYP. When I saved them out to PDF, the resulting files were both 0 byte empty files. Not sure what is causing this.
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2366
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by ThorstenOtto »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Tue Sep 28, 2021 2:49 pm Ok, tried that command line example.
Lots of warnings and some errors which I redirected to a file:

Arg, sorry. You have to specify pdf output too of course, otherwise he tries to compile the hyp instead if decompiling it. So the correct commandline would be

Code: Select all

hcp --charset CP1252 --pdf -o acspro.pdf /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Ok, thanks, that worked with no errors.

Code: Select all

/ACSPRO.HYP
recompiling /tmp/ACSPRO.HYP to acspro.pdf
generated 813 pages
PDF file created and opens up fine. So it works from command line, so I thought to look at the settings when running from the desktop.

Under Options->Output->Character Set, I changed from "System Default" to "Windows CP1252" and now it works and saves the PDF file correctly.

Also tried the character set "Atari ST" and it also creates the PDF fine. So the problem is with the option "System Default". I guess I forgot to change that setting after switching to the new 1.0.5 release.

This Save as PDF is a really nice feature to have in the viewer!
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Ooops, spoke too soon. After viewing the newly created PDFs, there is still an issue. This time with the image generation.

From the PDF generated from running at the command line, everything is ok:

acspro_pdf_command_line.png

But in the PDF generated after launching the hypertext from the desktop, the images are scrambled.

acspro_pdf_desktop.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

A user over at another forum is having issues running this on his STE.


https://atariage.com/forums/topic/33241 ... nt=5018785


I'll point him at this thread, but has anyone had that issue on a STE?
Calab
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Apr 20, 2021 7:24 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by Calab »

TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Thu Mar 10, 2022 1:24 pm A user over at another forum is having issues running this on his STE.
That would be me. I will admit that I'm still pretty green when it comes to using the Atari ST, so I could be doing something wrong.

This is what I see when I open the HYPVIEW.HYP file in medium resolution. That tool bar looks pretty ugly.
HCP-105.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
User avatar
masteries
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 448
Joined: Thu Jul 16, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by masteries »

Thanks for this tool!

I faced these sort of .HYP files recently
The inner mastery...

Metal Slug for Atari STE: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FMrdjrrtxWo
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hgW6Fc5Jli0

Low Cost Hard Disk for Atari ST/E (now it reaches 1 MB/s reading and 700 KB/s writing):
viewtopic.php?f=33&t=40018
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Qn9IwKo-EoA
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2366
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: HypView/hcp 1.0.5

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Calab wrote: Thu Mar 10, 2022 3:58 pm That tool bar looks pretty ugly.
Hm, that's possible, i never tried in medium resolution. Problem is that you would need a different set of images, that are only half as high as the "normal" ones.

How does ST-Guide behave there?
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”