Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Post Reply
AnachronyX
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:33 pm

Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by AnachronyX »

stormy
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by stormy »

That looks great!
User avatar
TheNameOfTheGame
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2203
Joined: Mon Jul 23, 2012 8:57 pm
Location: Almost Heaven, West Virginia

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by TheNameOfTheGame »

Incredible! Wonder if they are using Doug's agtools for development?
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2720
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by Cyprian »

looks cool and sounds cool
Lynx I / Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
AnachronyX
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by AnachronyX »

And he made Shadow of the Beast intro too...

https://twitter.com/keithclarkcouk/stat ... fcmIMpAAAA
User avatar
Cyprian
10 GOTO 10
10 GOTO 10
Posts: 2720
Joined: Fri Oct 04, 2002 11:23 am
Location: Warsaw, Poland

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by Cyprian »

@AnachronyX STE version of SotB looks cool
Lynx I / Mega ST 1 / 7800 / Portfolio / Lynx II / Jaguar / TT030 / Mega STe / 800 XL / 1040 STe / Falcon030 / 65 XE / 520 STm / SM124 / SC1435
DDD HDD / AT Speed C16 / TF536 / SDrive / PAK68/3 / Lynx Multi Card / LDW Super 2000 / XCA12 / SkunkBoard / CosmosEx / SatanDisk / UltraSatan / USB Floppy Drive Emulator / Eiffel / SIO2PC / Crazy Dots / PAM Net
Hatari / Steem SSE / Aranym / Saint
http://260ste.atari.org
MegaSTEarian
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 521
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2020 5:23 pm

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by MegaSTEarian »

Looks great.
Amy I wrong when I am thinking that developers should consider the existence of 4MB RAM and a "hard disk device" sort of standard in a way to improve music and graphics?
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5342
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by joska »

The video shows the game running on an emulated STE with 0.5Mb RAM, which is quite impressive :) However, I agree that it's not much point in making sacrifices to sound/gfx just because of RAM-issues, there are probably no STE *in use* today with less than 1Mb. I would guess that most of them has 4Mb.
TheNameOfTheGame wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 9:29 pm Incredible! Wonder if they are using Doug's agtools for development?
Not so sure that this game is *that* technically advanced on the STE. The graphics and animation is really good and I'm surprised that it runs on 0.5Mb, but there's not that many and/or big sprites on the screen and scrolling is pretty much free on the STE. So by all means not easy to make (far from it!), but IMO well within the STE's capabilities with "normal" coding.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
AnachronyX
Atari freak
Atari freak
Posts: 74
Joined: Sun Mar 08, 2009 12:33 pm

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by AnachronyX »

Not so sure that this game is *that* technically advanced on the STE.
That fast and smooth scrolling seems pretty advanced to me :)

And it looks like a lots of work was done.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
joska
Hardware Guru
Hardware Guru
Posts: 5342
Joined: Tue Oct 30, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Florø, Norway
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by joska »

First of all, I don't think he's actually making an STE-version of Ruff'n Tumble. The Twitter post says "placeholder graphics from Ruff'n Tumble".

Secondly, scrolling is "easy" on the STE, including fast and smooth like in this example. Even fast scrolling requires relatively small amounts of data being copied per frame. But again, I'm not saying that what we see in this video is easy to implement, but it is within the capabilities of the STE without resorting to the kind of wizardry you see in AGT or demo productions.
Jo Even

VanillaMiNT - Falcon060 - Milan060 - Falcon040 - MIST - Mega STE - Mega ST - STM - STE - Amiga 600 - Sharp MZ700 - MSX - Amstrad CPC - C64
User avatar
sporniket
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 203
Joined: Fri Feb 16, 2018 5:39 pm

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by sporniket »

MegaSTEarian wrote: Mon Jan 31, 2022 5:17 am Looks great.
Amy I wrong when I am thinking that developers should consider the existence of 4MB RAM and a "hard disk device" sort of standard in a way to improve music and graphics?
I don't know for other devs, but for the time being I want to target the configuration that I had at the time (1 MB though). Not that I require more for now :D . Later (wayyyy later), I will want to take advantage of those 4MB that I have on my current real STe. About the hard drive, I am not in a rush to get one too, probably because I don't need more than one 360KB worth of data.
User avatar
DarkLord
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5114
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by DarkLord »

After all this time, and considering the user-base has changed, I would
go with:

1 meg RAM minimum - 2-4 megs of RAM, add extra features.

Mass storage device - expected.

Compatibility with TOS v2.06 and up - expected.

And please make software accelerator compatible - a lot of people have
accelerated machines these days...
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
mlynn1974
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 599
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 10:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by mlynn1974 »

Nice one! It looks very nicely done. The graphics and animation are very good.
Still got, still working: Atari 4Mb STe, 520STFM (x2), 2.5Mb STF, Atari 2600JR, Flashback 8 Gold.
Hardware: Cumana CSA 354, Ultimate Ripper, Blitz Turbo, Synchro Express II (US and UK Versions).
User avatar
DarkLord
Ultimate Atarian
Ultimate Atarian
Posts: 5114
Joined: Mon Aug 16, 2004 12:06 pm
Location: Prestonsburg, KY - USA
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by DarkLord »

Oh! The game looks really great too... :)
Welcome To DarkForce! http://www.darkforce.org "The Fuji Lives.!"
Atari SW/HW based BBS - Telnet:darkforce-bbs.dyndns.org 1040
User avatar
retropassionuk
Atarian
Atarian
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Mar 23, 2022 4:18 pm
Location: Kent UK
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by retropassionuk »

It seems only in the last few years people are seeing what the STE could have done, i'm just happy we can no experience this today!!
User avatar
calimero
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2575
Joined: Thu Sep 15, 2005 10:01 am
Location: Serbia
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by calimero »

This is 50Hz?
Ruffle on Amiga is 25Hz...
using Atari since 1986.http://wet.atari.orghttp://milan.kovac.cc/atari/software/ ・ Atari Falcon030/CT63/SV ・ Atari STe ・ Atari Mega4/MegaFile30/SM124 ・ Amiga 1200/PPC ・ Amiga 500 ・ C64 ・ ZX Spectrum ・ RPi ・ MagiC! ・ MiNT 1.18 ・ OS X
elliot
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 215
Joined: Tue Mar 17, 2009 2:00 pm

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by elliot »

This looks sooooo good. Looking forward to it.

I am sure there was a survey done here some years back about the RAM size for STE users, I think most where 4mb (something like in the 90%ish). I would also guess most would have a HD facility too now (but not sure).

Okay if a game fits in half or one meg then great but I (personally and being selfish here) would prefer you spend your dev time making it better rather than smaller/compatible for use on a few machines - this is a legacy which has haunted ST (and other platform) users for many years! Remember all the games that were on single sided disk and for half meg ST when you invested in a 1mb STE! I mean, how hard was it to test if you had DMA sound and play the samples there rather than on the YM with massive frame lose! I am looking at you Lemmings 2, Flood, Speedball 2, etc, etc, etc (not that I do not appreciate/enjoy the games - but still).
Falcon with CT60 in rack mountable case. Two STFMs, one upgraded lots. My original STE from when I was a teen with Switchable TOS, 1.44Mb drive, 4MB RAM, Supra Hard Drive and very very yellow case. Mega STE with (currently none working) Crazy Dots 2. Atari 2600 and a Jag. And a mountain of commercial software and lots of hardware addons.
User avatar
metalages
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 306
Joined: Thu Jun 06, 2013 5:14 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by metalages »

Back then a lot of ste were 1mb using floppies. Mine is 2mb with a hxc floppy emulator.
User avatar
Orion_
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Jan 10, 2004 12:20 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Ruff 'n' Tumble on Atari STE? Wow...

Post by Orion_ »

my game Escape 2042 runs at 50 Fps on STe, hardware scrolling + blitter makes it "almost" easy
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aEo9V6zCZeY
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”