FRACTALS now works on V4SA

Latest news in the Atari world

Moderators: Mug UK, Silver Surfer, Moderator Team

Post Reply
JeanMars
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 429
Joined: Fri Apr 09, 2010 5:15 pm
Location: France
Contact:

FRACTALS now works on V4SA

Post by JeanMars »

Hi all,
FRACTALS is an appication developped for the Falcon featuring fast Fractals computations thanks to Falcon's DSP.
But it can also use a 68030 or a 68881/2.
I'm happy to announce that thanks to Guillaume Tello and Olivier Landemarre, this application now works on V4SA :-)
You can find it here:
http://vision.atari.org/telee.htm or
http://vision2.atari.org/telee.htm (mirror site hosted at my home, TLS mandatory)
Just go to the bottom of the table to find it.

FRACTALS is described here: http://vision.atari.org/fractale.htm

Have fun!
ThorstenOtto
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Fuji Shaped Bastard
Posts: 2372
Joined: Sun Aug 03, 2014 5:54 pm

Re: FRACTALS now works on V4SA

Post by ThorstenOtto »

Nice, but just out of curiosity: why did the V4SA need fixes?
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 558
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: FRACTALS now works on V4SA

Post by Moulinaie »

ThorstenOtto wrote: Sun Jul 24, 2022 9:52 am Nice, but just out of curiosity: why did the V4SA need fixes?
The FPU detection was faulty : the program thought it was running on a Mega ST(e) with a 68881 in peripherial mode.
So it tried to access directly to this hardware.

The patch I made is simple, modifies some assembly instruction to clear a bit so the program uses the 68882 instructions in coprocessor mode.

Guillaume.
Post Reply

Return to “News & Announcements”