FORTH and curves and surfaces

GFA, ASM, STOS, ...

Moderators: simonsunnyboy, Mug UK, Zorro 2, Moderator Team

Post Reply
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by Moulinaie »

Hi,

a set of new instructions to plot curves, and surfaces is available in FORTH.
3df.jpg
Everything is my page:

https://gtello.pagesperso-orange.fr/forth_e.htm#maths

Guillaume.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
stormy
Atari God
Atari God
Posts: 1360
Joined: Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:39 pm

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by stormy »

You are a serious genius! Awesome!
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by farvardin »

it looks great, well done!

I've tried it with the Hatari emulator, when I open forth.prg (french version), I get a "detected double bus/address erro => cpu halted" and I must quit. Same with the forth.prg english version.
Forthste.prg is working though...

The prg is on a gemdos drive.

another problem, when I try to saveb (in the same gemdos drive within the emulator), then instead of myfile.for or myfile.txt (with export), then the saved file will be *.FOR or *.TXT (seen from my PC)

In the atari selector, they are called +.FOR

and I can't load or import them back.

I can "force" to save as a specific name if I type the name in the "directory" line (top line). If I type in the "selection" line, like for all atari app, it doesn't work as it should.

is there a command for exiting FORTH? On most forth it's simply "bye", but it doesn't seem to work there.
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by Moulinaie »

Hi

To exit Forth use
system

To get some basic help, use the Help key or Shift F1.

Forth.prg is for 68030 and fpu
Forthste is for 68000 and eventual fpu.

I dont really understand the selector problem... maybe it could be solved by creating the Forthste.inf file (see the manual)

Guillaume
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by farvardin »

ok thanks.

I believed forth.prg was for stf and forthste.prg was for ste :)

I've modified the forthste.inf and put my current folder instead:

C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\*.FOR
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\*.TXT

and also
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\

but no way it's still not working. I'll test on a floppy instead, and on my MiST to see if it will change something. Btw I'm using a stf rom, maybe it's the reason?
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by Moulinaie »

farvardin wrote: Sun Dec 04, 2022 9:51 pm ok thanks.

I believed forth.prg was for stf and forthste.prg was for ste :)

I've modified the forthste.inf and put my current folder instead:

C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\*.FOR
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\*.TXT

and also
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\

but no way it's still not working. I'll test on a floppy instead, and on my MiST to see if it will change something. Btw I'm using a stf rom, maybe it's the reason?
Hi!

As the INF file is not "keyword" oriented, you have to put every information on a specific line: 1st line, 2nd line, etc...
So the INF file must be complete:

Code: Select all

%0+100
%50+0
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\*.FOR
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\*.TXT
C:\DEVEL\FORTH_F\
This reserves 100Kb for the editor, and half of remaining memory for the interpreter.
Then two lines for the paths (sources or export)
The last one for the HELP files (*.HLP and *.HYP)

Guillaume.
User avatar
farvardin
Captain Atari
Captain Atari
Posts: 427
Joined: Fri Jan 01, 2010 5:50 pm
Location: France
Contact:

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by farvardin »

I've only edited the lines in place so it didn't change the line order. The problem was I've made a copy of FORTHSTE.INF before editing it, and it was named by my system "FORTHSTE (copie).INF", and while I've edited the original one, it looks like the Atari was reading the (original) copy instead. Now I've deleted the copy, it's working as expected, thank you!

I've also added a ": bye system ;" into AUTOEXEC.FOR so I can now exit forth with bye :)
Moulinaie
Atari Super Hero
Atari Super Hero
Posts: 557
Joined: Wed Feb 01, 2012 9:34 pm

Re: FORTH and curves and surfaces

Post by Moulinaie »

farvardin wrote: Mon Dec 05, 2022 4:00 pm I've only edited the lines in place so it didn't change the line order. The problem was I've made a copy of FORTHSTE.INF before editing it, and it was named by my system "FORTHSTE (copie).INF", and while I've edited the original one, it looks like the Atari was reading the (original) copy instead. Now I've deleted the copy, it's working as expected, thank you!

I've also added a ": bye system ;" into AUTOEXEC.FOR so I can now exit forth with bye :)
You're too smart !

I was thinking of adding "bye", but your solution is great!

Guillaume.
Post Reply

Return to “Coding”